• Cancer Immunology and Microbial Oncology Research Program
  • The Next Frontier of Cancer Treatment
  • The Cancer Immunology and Microbial Oncology Program at the GW Cancer Center is focused on the mechanisms of cancer development and immune system regulation, as well as the role of viruses and pathogens in cancer biology and immunogenicity (the ability of an antigen to provoke an immune response). By studying how the immune system responds to cancer, we can develop new cancer therapies like antibody-based therapies, cancer vaccines and the next generation of CAR-T cell therapies, with a special emphasis in solid malignancies.

Program Information

About Cancer Immunology and Microbial Oncology

Cancer Immunology primarily works to understand the role of the immune system in the progression and treatment of cancer and leverage these insights into novel treatments against the disease by helping the immune system attack cancer directly or stimulate the activities of the immune system. Microbial Oncology is focused on the role of viruses and pathogens in cancer biology and immunogenicity. Research activities across the GW Cancer Center include a focus on epigenetic drugs to activate immune signaling, or combining epigenetic drugs to increase immunogenecity. Researchers are also examining the role of selective HDAC inhibition in lymphoma biology and immunogenicity. Additional research involves gene-modifying T cells and Natural Killer cells by engineering new functions or properties to improve potency and enhancing resistance to the tumor microenvironment, including new functions such as sectretion of antibodies targeting cancer markers.

Program Information

Aims and Themes

The four areas of research in cancer immunology and microbial oncology are:

  • Discover molecular and epigenetic mechanisms regulating tumor-immune cell interaction
  • Develop approaches combining cell therapy with other immune therapies to overcome the immune suppresive tumor environment and conduct clinical trials combining cell therapy and immunotherapy
  • Investigate the role of emerging viruses, such as HERVs, and pathogens in cancer biology and immunogenicity
  • Develop clinical interventions for microbial-driven cancers, such as those associated with HIV, EBV, HPV, HCV, with a particular focus on unmet needs in the community
Program Leaders

Catherine Bollard, MD Catherine Bollard, MD, associate center director for translational research and innovation at the GW Cancer Center, co-leads the Cancer Immunology and Microbial Oncology Program at the GW Cancer Center. Dr. Bollard also serves as director of the Center for Cancer and Immunology Research at the Children’s Research Institute at Children’s National Health System, and professor of pediatrics and microbiology, immunology and tropical medicine at the GW School of Medicine and Health Sciences.

View Dr. Bollard's Faculty Profile

Kieron Dunleavy, MD Kieron Dunleavy, MD, director of the lymphoma program at the GW Cancer Center and professor of medicine at the GW School of Medicine and Health Sciences, co-leads the Cancer Immunology and Microbial Oncology Program at the GW Cancer Center. Dr. Dunleavy is a medical oncologist and expert in lymphoid malignancies whose work is focused on the biology and treatment of lymphoid diseases.

View Dr. Dunleavy's Faculty Profile

Program Members
Microbial Oncology

Jeffrey Bethony

jbethony@gwu.edu

Alberto Bosque-Pardos

abosque@gwu.edu

Beda Brichacek

bricbeda@gwu.edu

Paul Brindley

pbrindley@gwu.edu

Michael Bukrinsky

mbukrins@gwu.edu

Blachy Davila Saldana

bjdavila@childrensnational.org

Kieron Dunleavy

kdunleavy@mfa.gwu.edu

Joseph Goodman

jfgoodman@mfa.gwu.edu

John Hawdon

jhawdon@gwu.edu

Michael Hsieh

perforin@gmail.com

Jeanne Jordan

jajordan@gwu.edu

Arjun Joshi

ajoshi@mfa.gwu.edu

Imtiaz Khan

imti56@gwu.edu

Beverly Long

belong@mfa.gwu.edu

Rebecca Lynch

rmlynch@gwu.edu

Victoria Mann

vmann@gwu.edu

Magali Moretto

morettom@gwu.edu

Vincent Obias

vobias@mfa.gwu.edu

Robert Siegel

rsiegel@mfa.gwu.edu

Sylvia Silver

ssilver@email.gwu.edu

Punam Thakkar

pthakkar@mfa.gwu.edu

Bindu Umapathi

bumapathi@mfa.gwu.edu

Ittiprasert Wannaporn

wannaporni@gwu.edu

SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING HALL
800 22nd Street NW, Suite 8000
Washington , DC
United States

To collaborate or learn more about the Cancer Immunology and Microbial Oncology Research Program, email us at cancercenter@gwu.edu.