• Population Sciences and Policy Research Program
  • Public Health Solutions for Cancer Prevention
  • Researchers in Population Sciences and Policy contribute to the prevention, detection, and control of cancer through the study of health-related behaviors, health care systems, and health-related quality of life. The program is also focused on understanding and addressing the social, cultural, and behavioral determinants of cancer-related health disparities.

Program Information

About Population Sciences and Policy

Population Sciences and Policy conducts research on the prevention and control of cancer and cancer-related health disparities. Areas of study include, but are not limited to, tobacco use, obesity and environmental exposures to cancer. This research in turn informs policies that address system-level factors that impact unique populations, such as the LGBTQI community.

Program Information

Aims and Themes

The three areas of research in population sciences and policy are:

  • To conduct cancer-related health services research to inform policy, address health disparities and understand the epidemiology of environmental exposure and cancer
  • To address system-level factors associated with tobacco use in populations
  • To understand the interactions between obesity and cancer and to address system-level factors associated with obesity prevention
Program Leader

Carla Berg, PhD, MBA, LP Carla Berg, PhD, MBA, LP, professor of prevention and community health at Milken Institute School of Public Health, is the associate center director of population sciences and policy. A clinical psychologist, Berg's research expertise is on multilevel determinants of health, with an emphasis on high-risk populations like young adults, racial minorities and the LGBTQ population. She is a recognized expert on implementation of tobacco control policies and health disparities, and has published nearly 200 peer-reviewed scientific reports and papers.

View Dr. Berg's Faculty Profile

Program Members

Lorien Abroms

lorien@gwu.edu

Hannah Arem

hannaharem@email.gwu.edu

Debra Bernat

dbernat@gwu.edu

Elizabeth Bluhm

ebluhm@mfa.gwu.edu

Kelly Chiles

kchiles@mfa.gwu.edu

Sean Cleary

sdcleary@gwu.edu

William Dietz

bdietz@gwu.edu

Avi Dor

avidor@gwu.edu

Doug Evans

wdevans@gwu.edu

Jody Ganiban

jmganiban@gmail.com

Lynn Goldman

goldmanl@gwu.edu

Alan Greenberg

aeg1@gwu.edu

Kathleen Griffith

kgriffith@gwu.edu

Steven Hardy

shardy@childrensnational.org

Lorens Helchem

helmchen@gwu.edu

Pamela Hinds

PSHinds@childrensnational.org

Dana Hines

dana_hines2@gwu.edu

Katie Horton

khorton@gwu.edu

Becca Kaltman

rkaltman@mfa.gwu.edu

Mikhail Kogan

koganmik@gmail.com

Leighton Ku

lku@gwu.edu

Michael Long

michael_long@gwu.edu

Yan Ma

yanma@gwu.edu

Keith Mortman

kmortman@mfa.gwu.edu

Jeanne Murphy

jeannemurphy@gwu.edu

Melissa Napolitano

mnapolitano@gwu.edu

Mellisa Perry

mperry@gwu.edu

Mandi Pratt-Chapman

mandi@gwu.edu

Christina Puchalski

cpuchalski@mfa.gwu.edu

Kim Robien

krobien@gwu.edu

Sara Rosenbaum

sarar@gwu.edu

Antoinette Saddler

asaddler@mfa.gwu.edu

Sam Simmens

simmens@gwu.edu

Elizabeth Stark

estark@mfa.gwu.edu

Christine Teal

cteal@mfa.gwu.edu

Amanda Thompson

ALthomps@childrensnational.org

Monique Turner

mmturner@gwu.edu

Anushree Vichare

avichare@gwu.edu

Sherrie Wallington

sflyntwalling31@gwu.edu

Tony Yang

ytyang@gwu.edu

Heather Young

youngh@gwu.edu

Qiuping (Pearl) Zhou

qzhou3@gwu.edu

Ami Zota

azota@gwu.edu

SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING HALL
800 22nd Street NW, Suite 8000
Washington , DC
United States

To collaborate or learn more about the Population Sciences and Policy Research Program, email us at cancercenter@gwu.edu.