• Cancer Biology Research Program
  • Making Progress Against the Disease
  • Cancer Biology is a critical area for research within the GW Cancer Center. GW researchers are working to better understand the genetic make-up of cancers and the mechanisms that drive processes like cell growth, the alteration of normal cells to cancer cells, and how cancer cells spread or metastasize. Knowledge gained from such work helps researchers to discover innovative therapies and more effectively treat cancer.

Program Information

About Cancer Biology

Cancer Biology focuses on investigating the mechanisms and signaling pathways involved in the development and progression of cancer. To understand how cancer grows, changes and progresses, researchers first need to study the biological differences between normal cells and cancer cells (National Cancer Institute, 2016). The goal of the program is to leverage basic science discoveries that can be translated into improved detection, diagnosis, prognosis, prevention and treatment of cancer.

Program Information

Aims and Themes

The three areas of research in the cancer biology program are:

  • Discover and integrate gene regulatory and signal transduction events in cancer, leading to enhanced understanding of mechanisms of drug resistance and sensitivity
  • Define epigenetic events in cancer, providing insights to better strategies for therapeutic intervention
  • Elucidate new mechanistic insights in DNA repair and genome stability
Program Leader

Norman Lee, PhD Norman Lee, PhD, a professor of pharmacology/physiology, leads the Cancer Biology Program at the GW Cancer Center. Dr. Lee also serves as the Director of the Cancer Biology PhD Program, a member of the Board of Directors in the Katzen Cancer Research Center, and Editor of Scientific Reports.

View Dr. Lee's Faculty Profile

Program Members

Anne Angiolillo

aangioli@cnmc.org

Patricia Berg

peb@email.gwu.edu

Miriam Bornhorst

MBornhorst@childrensnational.org

Inhee Chung

inheec@email.gwu.edu

Keith Crandall

kcrandall@email.gwu.edu

Jeffrey Dome

JDome@childrensnational.org

Cynthia Dowd

cdowd@gwu.edu

Holly Dushkin

hdushkin@mfa.gwu.edu

Harold Frazier

hfrazier@mfa.gwu.edu

Sidney Fu

sfu@gwu.edu

Zhe Han

ZHan@childrensnational.org

Anelia Horvatha

horvatha@email.gwu.edu

Yanfen Hu

huy3@gwu.edu

Shana Jacobs

SSJacobs@childrensnational.org

Donald Karcher

dkarcher@mfa.gwu.edu

Lindsay Kilburn

LKilburn@childrensnational.org

Alexi Kiss

kiss@gwu.edu

Ajit Kumar

akumar@gwu.edu

Stephan Ladisch

sladisch@childrensnational.org

Patricia Latham

pslath@email.gwu.edu

Norman Lee

nhlee@email.gwu.edu

Rong Li

rli69@gwu.edu

Wei  Li

wli2@childrensnational.org

Jianqing Lin

jilin@mfa.gwu.edu

Micael Lopez-Acevedo

mlopezacevedo@mfa.gwu.edu

Michael Massiah

massiah@gwu.edu

Raja Mazumder

mazumder@gwu.edu

Lopa Mishra

lmishra@gwu.edu

Javid Nazarian

javjoon@gmail.com

Huadong Pei

huadongpei@gwu.edu

Yanxin Pei

ypei@childrensnational.org

Lirong PengL

pengl@gwu.edu

Michael Phillips

mphillips@mfa.gwu.edu

Erik Rodriguez

erik_rodriguez@gwu.edu

Brian Rood

Brood@cnmc.org

Reuven Schore

RSchore@childrensnational.org

Ed Seto

seto@gwu.edu

Jonathan Sherman

jsherman@mfa.gwu.edu

Maho Shibata

mshibata@gwu.edu

Mitchell Smith

mismith@mfa.gwu.edu

Alexandros Tzatsos

atzatsos@email.gwu.edu

Khashayar Vaziri

kvaziri@mfa.gwu.edu

Ray-Chang Wu

rwu@gwu.edu

Mei-Yi Wu

meiyiwu@gwu.edu

Xiaoyan Zheng

xzheng@email.gwu.edu

Wenge Zhu

wz6812@gwu.edu

Yuan Zhu

YZhu@childrensnational.org

SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING HALL
800 22nd Street NW, Suite 8000
Washington , DC
United States

To collaborate or learn more about the Cancer Biology Research Program, email us at cancercenter@gwu.edu.