• Cancer Engineering and Technology Research Program
  • Where Collaboration and Innovation Meet
  • Cancer engineering and technology provide new tools to address cancer and improve patient outcomes. GW researchers are working to tackle the challenges of scientific advancements today with an eye toward the treatments of tomorrow. By collaborating with researchers across different backgrounds and disciplines, the Cancer Engineering and Technology Program takes basic science knowledge and optimizes it to benefit to patients through high quality personalized medicine in a variety of fields.

Program Information

About Cancer Engineering and Technology

Cancer engineering and technology is highly collaborative and aims to merge components from biology and engineering to contribute to health care innovation and personalized medicine. The insights from engineering can serve as a bridge to the clinical and molecular understanding of cancer, while technology can help intervene and improve outcomes.

Program Information

Aims and Themes

The three areas of research in cancer engineering and technology are:

  • To improve novel imaging technologies for early cancer detection and therapy, including optical, ultrasound, CT, MRI and/or implantable optoelectronics
  • To develop a novel bioelectronics platform enabling preclinical cancer research, including bioelectronics, optoelectronics, optogenetics, microfluidics, and organ-on-chip technology
  • To develop enabling technologies for novel biological approaches for cancer diagnostics and treatment, such as drug delivery, gene editing, or implantable devices
Program Leader

Igor Egimov, PhD

Igor Efimov, PhD, Alisann and Terry Collins Professor and Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering, leads the Cancer Engineering and Technology Program at the GW Cancer Center. Dr. Efimov also serves as the director of Cardiovascular Engineering Laboratory, an NIH-funded cardiovascular research and engineering laboratory, and Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering and American Journal of Physiology: Heart and Circulatory Physiology.

View Dr. Efimov's Faculty Profile

Program Members

Rachel Brem

rbrem@mfa.gwu.edu

Albert Chun

achun@mfa.gwu.edu

Igor Efimov

efimov@email.gwu.edu

Tatiana Efimova

tefimova@gwu.edu

Emilia Entcheva

entcheva@email.gwu.edu

Rohan Fernandes

rfernandes@email.gwu.edu

Adam Friedman

ajfriedman@mfa.gwu.edu

Sharad Goyal

shgoyal@mfa.gwu.edu

Matthew Kay

phymwk@gwu.edu

Michael Keidar

keidar@email.gwu.edu

Aerang Kim

AeKim@childrensnational.org

Zhenyu Li

zhenyu@email.gwu.edu

Murray Loew

loew@email.gwu.edu

Luyoa Lu

luyaolu@gwu.edu

Anne-Laure Papa

alpapa@email.gwu.edu

Weiqun Peng

wpeng@gwu.edu

Michael Plesniak

plesniak@email.gwu.edu

Xiangyun Qiu

xqiu@gwu.edu

Yuan Rao

yrao@mfa.gwu.edu

Shawn Sarin

ssarin@mfa.gwu.edu

Daniel Scher

dscher@mfa.gwu.edu

Akos Vertes

vertes@gwu.edu

Jason Zara

jzara@gwu.edu

Vesna Zderic

zderic@gwu.edu

SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING HALL
800 22nd Street NW, Suite 8000
Washington , DC
United States

To collaborate or learn more about the Cancer Engineering and Technology Research Program, email us at gwcc_cet@gwu.edu.